How Many Points is Reckless Driving in Virginia?
It is a common question: “How many points is reckless driving in Virginia?” You have been stopped for speeding above 80 mph on a Virginia highway. You received a summons for “reckless driving,” a criminal traffic offense that punishes driving at any speed above 80 mph on a Virginia road.
If you are convicted of reckless driving, then you will receive: six points. It is a six-point violation for reckless driving under Virginia law. These points are required by the court, and the Virginia traffic code – unlike other states – does not allow a judge to convict of you an offense but otherwise waive the points. When you are convicted of reckless driving, the six points are mandatory.
So what can you do about getting rid of points for reckless driving in Virginia?
You ought to consider speaking with a criminal defense lawyer about your case. There is a good chance that if you were polite and cooperative with the officer, have a good driving record, and the speed was not too fast, that you might be able to avoid the six points on the charge by getting the case reduced to a lesser offense, such as Improper Driving (three points), Speeding (three points), or even Defective Equipment (zero points).
Need to avoid six points for reckless driving in Virginia? Interested in keeping your insurance rates down and protecting your record? For a free consultation, call (540) 585-1776.
Leave a comment