Prepayable Fine for Reckless Driving in Virginia
Is there a prepayable fine for reckless driving in Virginia? No. But there is a range of punishments, depending on the case, so that you can budget for the likely outcome on your ticket.
For example, consider the typical case of 88 mph in a 70 mph zone on the highway. And, assume the person had one prior speeding ticket in the past three years.
The likely punishment varies greatly in Southwest Virginia depending on the jurisdiction. For example, here is the likely outcome for the above scenario in several courts:
- Smyth County – Dismissed upon taking a drivers’ improvement class.
- Pulaski – Reduced to a speeding, $200 fine.
- Montgomery County – Reduced to improper driving, $500 fine.
- Roanoke County – Reduced to defective equipment, no points, $200 fine.
- Botetourt – Guilty as charged, $250 fine.
- Lexington – Guilty as charged, $250-500 fine.
Need help in your reckless driving case? For a free consultation, call (540) 585-1776.
Leave a comment