☏ Free Consultation: (540) 585-1776

Campaign News

Prepayable Fine for Reckless Driving in Virginia

Is there a prepayable fine for reckless driving in Virginia? No. But there is a range of punishments, depending on the case, so that you can budget for the likely outcome on your ticket.

For example, consider the typical case of 88 mph in a 70 mph zone on the highway. And, assume the person had one prior speeding ticket in the . . .

Read More

Have to Show Up for Reckless Driving Court Hearing?

If you were driving through Virginia, and you were stopped by a police officer for driving faster than 80 mph on the highway, there is a good chance you were cited for reckless driving.

The officer gives you a summons. It is not a traffic ticket and not prepayable. Rather, it criminal charge with a court date. So now you are wondering:

“Do I have to show up . . .

Read More

Do Reckless Driving Points Transfer Out of State?

So you were driving through the beautiful Virginia countryside, enjoying the Blue Ridge mountains and the fall leaves, on your way to a vacation destination – the beach? the Smoky Mountains? – when suddenly, blue lights flicker in your rearview mirror and your heart skips.

You have been charged with reckless driving for going 80 mph or more on a Virginia . . .

Read More

Is Reckless Driving Prepayable?

It’s a common question: “Is reckless driving prepayable?”

After all, most traffic tickets are prepayable. You get your ticket. You get home, go online, and rather than deal with the headache of a court appearance, simply “pay your ticket” with the fine posted at the court, and move on with your life. That’s how most traffic tickets are handled by the . . .

Read More

How to Fight a Reckless Driving Case

How can you contest a reckless driving charge? Hire a lawyer to attend court on your behalf to try and get the charge reduced or dismissed. There are two strategies: mitigation defense and technical defense.

If mitigation defense (“Yes, I was speeding, but I am looking for leniency”), send the lawyer to court with:

Driving record
Letters of recommendation
Safe driving course certificate
Speedometer calibration
Community . . .

Read More

How Many Points is Reckless Driving in Virginia?

It is a common question: “How many points is reckless driving in Virginia?” You have been stopped for speeding above 80 mph on a Virginia highway. You received a summons for “reckless driving,” a criminal traffic offense that punishes driving at any speed above 80 mph on a Virginia road.

If you are convicted of reckless driving, then you will receive: . . .

Read More

Can a Witness “Plead the Fifth” in Virginia?

When a witness is called to testify in a Virginia criminal case, they have a right under the Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution to refuse to testify – if their testimony would be self-incriminating. But under certain circumstances, such as an offer of immunity, they may still be required to testify.

The United States Supreme Court has held that . . .

Read More

Roanoke Valley Criminal Defense - Logo